I went to see A Chorus Line last night. It was really quite good. There were a few things I had some problems with, but overall it was wonderful.
The thing that really bothered me is that a lot of the people really couldn't sing. Diana and Maggie could sing, but Cassie, who has the biggest solo, couldn't. It was really annoying, because the song was right over her voice break, and at the beginning, she wasn't belting, so it would just switch between her chest voice and her head voice, which was really bad in the first place, and it sounded terrible. And then when she started to belt, it was really grating and even more nasal than belts usually are.
One of the great things was that everyone could dance, and I mean really dance. Some of the best dancers were Paul, Cassie, and basically everyone.
My favorite people in it were Diana (Moralis), because she could sing, dance, act, and she was spunky and fun. We saw an understudy, but she was still amazing. She was really great. Paul was also amazing. He couldn't really sing, but he could really act and boy could he DANCE. He was an amazing dancer and it was really great just to watch him. Sheila was also hilarious and had a great stage presence.
I like how they did the set, completely bare except for a line on the floor, and sometimes with mirrors on the walls, because it felt like a real dance studio.
Overall, it was a really fun show, and I would definitely suggest seeing it if you get the chance.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment